- The Number: 70% of 100 Questions
- What AAPC Publishes and What It Doesn't
- The Scoring Math Behind a Pass
- Where Your Points Come From: The Six Assessed Areas
- Open-Book Rules and What They Mean for Your Score
- Budgeting Four Hours Across 100 Questions
- Fees, Attempts and the Cost of Missing the Line
- A Score-Targeted Preparation Sequence
- What Happens After You Pass
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Gastroenterology Coder exam requires 70% correct on 100 proctored multiple-choice questions, completed in one four-hour sitting.
- AAPC does not publish a CGIC-specific pass rate; the broad 80% AAPC marketing figure is not this credential's pass rate.
- Six published assessment areas define scope, but no official numerical domain weights have been verified.
- Three code books are allowed: AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II, one copy each.
The Number: 70% of 100 Questions
The passing standard for the Certified Gastroenterology Coder (CGIC) credential from AAPC is straightforward on paper: you must answer 70% of the exam correctly. The exam consists of 100 proctored multiple-choice questions, delivered in a single four-hour sitting. That is the entire published scoring rule, and it comes from the current AAPC help page for the certification.
If every question counted toward your score, 70% would mean 70 correct answers. That is the number most candidates plan around, and it is a sensible planning target. But it comes with an honest caveat that the rest of this article unpacks: AAPC does not disclose whether all 100 questions are scored or whether some are unscored items, so the exact raw-score cutoff is not something you can confirm from public sources.
What AAPC Publishes and What It Doesn't
Precision matters when you are deciding how much to study, so it helps to separate confirmed facts from open questions. Candidates who rely on rumor or on figures borrowed from other exams tend to mis-plan their preparation.
| Item | Status for CGIC |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 proctored multiple-choice questions (confirmed) |
| Time allowed | 4 hours, one sitting (confirmed) |
| Passing standard | 70% correct (confirmed) |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Official numerical domain weights | Not verified; no dated 2026 weighted blueprint |
| CGIC-specific pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Calculator availability | Unverified |
| Adaptive testing | Unverified |
Two points deserve emphasis. First, the AAPC help page that states the 70% standard is dated May 23, 2024 and is still the currently served page. It confirms the format and the cut score, but it does not establish a newly dated 2026 weighted blueprint. Second, any figure you see online for a CGIC pass rate is not an official AAPC statistic. If you want to understand what is and is not known about outcomes, our article on the CGIC pass rate and what the data shows walks through the evidence carefully.
The Scoring Math Behind a Pass
Because the scored-versus-unscored split is undisclosed, the safest way to think about your result is as a percentage rather than a raw count. Here is how to reason about it without inventing facts.
If all 100 questions are scored
You need 70 correct answers and can miss 30. That sounds generous until you consider that gastroenterology coding questions are scenario-heavy. Many items present a procedure description and ask for the single correct code or modifier combination, which means one missed detail in the note can sink the answer.
If some questions are unscored
Your 70% is calculated against the scored items only, and you cannot tell which ones those are. The practical consequence is that you should never "write off" a question as probably unscored. Give every item your full attention, because you have no way to identify the ones that do not count.
Why a raw tally is a poor mid-exam tool
Many candidates try to keep a running count of confident versus uncertain answers during the exam. That can be useful as a rough gut-check, but it can also induce panic. Since the cutoff is a percentage of an unknown scored pool, your mental tally is only an estimate. Use it to decide where to spend remaining time, not to predict your result.
Key Takeaway
Do not anchor on a magic raw number. Anchor on consistent accuracy. If your timed practice results sit comfortably above 70% across every assessed area, the exact scored count matters far less than it feels like it does.
Where Your Points Come From: The Six Assessed Areas
AAPC's help page lists six competency areas that the CGIC examination tests. They are published as scope topics, not as a weighted blueprint, and the 2026 specialty study guide itself states that it is not comprehensive. That means your score depends on being solid across all six rather than gambling on one favorite. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see our complete guide to all six CGIC content areas.
Domain 1: Physician and Operative-Note Abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and Modifiers
This is the area where the exam feels most like the job. You read office notes and operative notes, then abstract the diagnoses, procedures, supplies and modifiers that belong on the claim.
- Pull the correct diagnosis codes from documentation, following ICD-10-CM general and chapter-specific guidelines.
- Recognize when a note supports a code and when it does not; documentation specificity drives accuracy.
- Apply modifiers correctly, since a right CPT code with the wrong modifier is still a wrong answer.
- Know the common diagnostic coding errors in gastroenterology, which the study guide treats as a dedicated topic.
Domain 2: Evaluation and Management Guidelines
E/M questions cover new and established office and outpatient services, consultations and hospital services.
- Understand documentation requirements that support each E/M category and subcategory.
- Handle a patient returning to the office on the same date of service.
- Recognize standby services and how they differ from face-to-face care.
Domain 3: Medicare Billing Rules and Regulations
The published scope names Medicare incident-to, teaching situations, shared visits, consultations and global surgery.
- Incident-to guidelines and when services qualify.
- Shared/split visit rules between a physician and a non-physician practitioner.
- Teaching physician guidelines and what the supervising physician must document.
- The Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN) and when it applies.
- Global surgery concepts and how they interact with post-procedure care.
Domain 4: Gastroenterology Surgical Procedure Coding
This area covers the procedures themselves. The published scope calls out gastric or duodenal intubation, enteroscopy, mediastinotomy and hernia repair, within the broader CPT coding for gastroenterology.
- Differentiate diagnostic from therapeutic endoscopic work.
- Select among closely related CPT codes based on what was actually performed.
- Apply modifiers when multiple procedures occur in the same session.
- Learn the study guide's list of commonly missed coding concepts.
Domain 5: Medical Terminology
Terminology underpins every other area. If you misread a word root or suffix in an operative note, you will misidentify the procedure.
- Prefixes, suffixes and roots common to digestive-system and abdominal procedures.
- Terms describing approach, direction, removal, repair and visualization.
Domain 6: Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomy questions test whether you can locate structures and understand how the digestive tract works. AAPC also lists specialty pathophysiology among its published experience expectations, so disease processes belong in your review alongside normal anatomy.
- Sequence and landmarks of the upper and lower gastrointestinal tract.
- Accessory organs and their relationships to the tract.
- How common GI conditions alter normal structure and function.
Open-Book Rules and What They Mean for Your Score
The CGIC exam permits reference materials, which changes how you should think about the 70% threshold. You may use one copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II code books. Current or preceding-year editions are permitted, and the one-copy limit applies.
Open-book does not mean easy. Four hours for 100 questions sounds roomy, but code lookup is slow if you do not know your books. A candidate who treats the code books as a crutch rather than a tool tends to run short of time and to pick codes that look right without verifying guideline notes.
- Tab and annotate within the rules. Learn the layout of each book so a lookup takes seconds, not minutes.
- Read the parenthetical notes. CPT instructions about "separate procedure," "do not report with," and similar guidance often decide the answer.
- Verify, don't browse. Form your answer from your knowledge, then confirm it in the book.
Remote testing adds its own requirements: room setup, computer, internet connection and an external webcam. The authorized-center listing places AAPC under Meazure Learning, while the specific remote vendor for CGIC is unverified, so confirm current delivery details in your AAPC account before exam day. Our guide to CGIC exam dates, testing windows and scheduling covers the logistics side.
Budgeting Four Hours Across 100 Questions
Four hours across 100 questions averages out to roughly two and a half minutes per question. That average hides a wide spread: terminology and anatomy items may take under a minute, while a multi-procedure operative note with modifier decisions can take five or more minutes with code-book lookups.
- First pass: answer what you know. Move quickly through terminology, anatomy and straightforward E/M items to bank points and time.
- Second pass: work the lookup-heavy items. Operative-note abstraction and procedure coding questions deserve the time you saved.
- Final pass: revisit flagged items. Use any remaining time to double-check modifier choices and guideline exceptions.
Fees, Attempts and the Cost of Missing the Line
Falling short of 70% has a real financial and scheduling cost, so it is worth understanding the fee structure before you register. AAPC lists the CGIC specialty exam fee at $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts. Membership is required, and no separate non-member exam price is published. The current shop membership add-on is $229. A matching government photo ID and an exam voucher are also required.
| Option | Published amount |
|---|---|
| Exam, one attempt | $325 |
| Exam, two attempts | $399 |
| Membership add-on (shop) | $229 |
The two-attempt bundle costs only $74 more than a single attempt, which makes it a reasonable safety net for candidates unsure of their readiness. That said, buying a retake is not a substitute for preparing to pass the first time. For the complete breakdown, including how membership factors in, read our CGIC certification cost guide, and check the CGIC requirements article for eligibility details. There is no mandatory prior coding credential, degree or fixed experience minimum, although two years of experience is highly recommended.
A Score-Targeted Preparation Sequence
Because no official weights exist, the smartest approach is to protect against your weakest area while reinforcing the one that generates the most code-lookup effort. The sequence below ties each week to a published assessment area. Adjust the length to your own timeline; it is a template, not a requirement. For broader preparation strategy, see our CGIC study guide for first-attempt success.
Foundations: Terminology and Anatomy
- Review digestive-system word parts and anatomical landmarks.
- Work through specialty pathophysiology so operative-note diagnoses make sense.
ICD-10-CM Guidelines and Diagnostic Errors
- Read the general and chapter-specific guidelines.
- Study the top diagnostic coding errors in gastroenterology.
E/M and Medicare Rules
- Practice E/M category selection and same-day return scenarios.
- Drill incident-to, shared/split visits, teaching physician rules and the ABN.
Procedure Coding and Modifiers
- Abstract operative notes for endoscopic, intubation, enteroscopy and hernia scenarios.
- Review the commonly missed CGIC coding concepts and modifier logic.
Timed, Full-Length Practice
- Sit 100-question timed sets using only the permitted code books.
- Review every miss by area and revisit the weakest one.
Use our CGIC practice tests to simulate timed conditions and track accuracy by area. The goal is consistent results above 70% in every area, not an average propped up by one strong subject. If you are unsure how demanding the exam is relative to your background, our CGIC difficulty guide can help you calibrate.
What Happens After You Pass
Clearing 70% earns you the Certified Gastroenterology Coder credential, but the credential carries ongoing obligations. You must maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs every two years, including eight gastroenterology-specific CEUs. Plan for this from the start so your renewal does not become a scramble.
Employers that value the credential are those with gastroenterology exposure: GI physician practices, endoscopy centers, hospital outpatient departments and billing companies serving digestive-health specialists. For a look at how the credential translates into opportunity, see our analyses of CGIC earnings and whether the certification is worth it. You can also explore CGIC jobs to see where the credential is put to use.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Certified Gastroenterology Coder exam requires 70% correct. The exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions and is taken in one four-hour sitting. AAPC does not disclose the scored versus unscored split, so the exact raw count behind 70% is not confirmed.
No. A CGIC-specific pass rate is not publicly disclosed. The 80% figure that appears in broad AAPC student marketing is not the pass rate for this credential and should not be used to estimate your odds.
Yes, within limits. You may use one copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II books. Current or preceding-year editions are permitted. Remote testing also has room, computer, internet and external webcam requirements.
AAPC lists six assessed competency areas but no verified numerical weights, and no dated 2026 weighted blueprint has been confirmed. Because the largest-weighted area is unknown, prepare evenly across all six rather than concentrating on one.
AAPC lists the specialty fee at $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts, with membership required. The two-attempt option costs $74 more than a single attempt, so it can serve as a modest safety net if you are uncertain about readiness.