CGIC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CGIC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • AAPC does not publicly disclose a pass rate specifically for the Certified Gastroenterology Coder (CGIC) exam.
  • The broad 80% AAPC marketing figure is not the CGIC pass rate and should not be cited as one.
  • The CGIC exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions, four hours, and a 70% correct cut score.
  • Six published assessment areas define scope; AAPC has not published numerical weights for them.

What the Data Actually Shows (and What It Doesn't)

Anyone searching for a clean "CGIC pass rate" number is going to be disappointed, and it's better to hear that up front. AAPC, the American Academy of Professional Coders, has not publicly disclosed a pass rate for the Certified Gastroenterology Coder credential. There is no published percentage of first-time passers, no retake statistic, and no score distribution tied to this specific exam.

That absence matters because several websites fill the gap with confident-sounding numbers. Treat those with suspicion. If a figure isn't traceable to an AAPC publication about this credential, it's an estimate at best and a fabrication at worst. This article takes a different approach: it lays out what is verifiable about the exam's structure, difficulty drivers, and candidate profile, so you can judge your own odds on evidence instead of a rumor.

Bottom line on the number: There is no official, public CGIC-specific pass rate. Anything presented as one should be treated as unverified. What you can measure is the exam's published design: 100 questions, four hours, and a 70% threshold.

For a broader look at what makes the exam demanding, see our companion piece on how hard the CGIC exam is, and for the scoring threshold in detail, read CGIC Passing Score 2026.

Why the 80% AAPC Figure Is Not a CGIC Pass Rate

If you've done any research, you've probably run into an "80%" claim attached to AAPC. That number comes from broad AAPC student marketing, not from the Certified Gastroenterology Coder exam. It describes a general outcome across a very different population and is not a credential-level pass rate.

There are good reasons not to transplant it onto the CGIC:

  • Different populations. Marketing statistics about students in AAPC training programs describe people who followed a structured curriculum. The CGIC is a specialty credential taken by people who typically already work in coding.
  • Different measurement. A student-outcome marketing line is not the same as the share of all test-takers who pass one particular specialty exam.
  • No disclosure link. AAPC has not tied that percentage to the CGIC exam anywhere in its published materials.

The same caution applies to practice-test and study-guide question counts. The number of questions in a study guide or practice product is a product feature, not the live exam's question count. The live exam has 100 questions.

Exam Format and the 70% Cut Score

Since an official pass rate isn't available, the most reliable "data" you have is the exam's own design. These details come from AAPC's current CGIC help page:

FeatureCGIC Detail
Question count100 proctored multiple-choice questions
Time limit4 hours, one sitting
Passing standard70% correct
DeliveryLive-remote or computer testing center
Reference materialsOne each: AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, HCPCS Level II
Edition ruleCurrent or preceding-year editions permitted
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
Calculator / adaptivityUnverified

Two numbers do most of the work here. Four hours for 100 questions averages out to roughly two and a half minutes per item, which is generous for a multiple-choice exam. That pacing suggests the questions are expected to require code lookup and reasoning, not rote recall. And a 70% threshold means you can miss up to 30 of 100 questions, assuming all questions count toward the score, though AAPC has not disclosed whether any items are unscored.

Why the open-book format shifts the difficulty: With one CPT Professional, one ICD-10-CM, and one HCPCS Level II allowed, the exam rewards candidates who can navigate code books quickly and apply guidelines correctly, not those who merely memorize codes. Speed of lookup and fluency with guideline sections become the differentiator.

You can read more about the scoring line on our passing score page.

Who Sits the Exam and What That Means for Outcomes

A pass rate is only meaningful in light of who is taking the test. The CGIC has no mandatory prior coding credential, no required degree, no references requirement, and no fixed specialty experience minimum. AAPC does say two years of experience is highly recommended, and the exam assumes advanced specialty knowledge.

That combination creates a wide candidate spread. Some test-takers are seasoned gastroenterology coders adding a specialty credential. Others are general coders moving into the specialty. The open-entry design means the eventual pass rate, whatever it is, reflects a mixed pool, which is another reason an outside number borrowed from a different credential would be misleading.

What you need to sit for the exam:

  • An active AAPC membership (membership is required; no separate non-member exam tariff is published)
  • An exam voucher
  • Matching government-issued photo ID
  • Advanced specialty knowledge of gastroenterology coding

For the full eligibility picture, see CGIC Requirements 2026.

The Six Assessment Areas Where Candidates Lose Points

AAPC publishes six competency areas the CGIC tests. Important caveat: these are unweighted topics, not an official weighted blueprint. AAPC has not published numerical weights or identified which area carries the most questions. Any claim that a particular domain makes up a specific percentage of the exam is unsupported. Our complete domains guide explores each in depth; here is how they map to likely failure points.

Domain 1: Physician and operative-note abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifiers

You must read real-style physician office notes and operative notes and extract the correct codes across three code sets plus modifiers.

  • Pulling diagnosis codes from narrative documentation
  • Selecting CPT procedure codes that match what was actually performed
  • Applying HCPCS Level II where supplies or services call for it
  • Choosing modifiers that accurately reflect the encounter

Domain 2: Evaluation and management guidelines

E/M for new and established office/outpatient services, consultations, and hospital services.

  • Documentation requirements that support the level of service
  • Same-day return visits to the office
  • Distinguishing E/M categories and subcategories

Domain 3: Medicare billing rules and regulations

Medicare-specific rules that change how services are reported and paid.

  • Incident-to guidelines
  • Teaching physician situations
  • Shared/split visits
  • Consultation rules and global surgery

Domain 4: Gastroenterology surgical procedure coding

The specialty-defining content, covering the procedures a GI practice actually bills.

  • Gastric or duodenal intubation
  • Enteroscopy
  • Mediastinotomy
  • Hernia repair

Domain 5: Medical terminology

Terminology fluency underpins every other domain, since misreading a term leads straight to a wrong code.

Domain 6: Anatomy and physiology

Understanding the digestive tract and related structures so you can match documentation to the correct procedure and diagnosis. Published experience expectations also include specialty pathophysiology.

Because AAPC doesn't weight these areas publicly, the safest assumption is that you can't skip any. A candidate strong in surgical coding but weak in Medicare rules has no published reason to believe the exam will go easy on that gap.

What the Study Guide Reveals About Common Misses

The official 2026 specialty study guide is the closest thing to a signal about where candidates struggle. Its table of contents is telling. Beyond the core code-set sections, it includes dedicated chapters titled "Top 10 Errors in Diagnostic Coding for Gastroenterology" and "Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts on CGIC™ Exam."

Those two headings are worth pausing on. They don't give you a percentage, but they strongly imply that AAPC sees recurring, predictable mistakes among candidates, in both diagnostic coding and in exam-specific concepts. If you're asking where the exam trips people up, those chapters are the first place to look.

The guide's full contents also cover:

  • ICD-10-CM Coding Guidelines, including general tips and chapter-specific guidelines
  • Evaluation and Management Coding for Gastroenterology, including documentation guidelines and E/M categories
  • Incident-to guidelines, standby services, shared/split visits, and teaching physician guidelines
  • Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN)
  • CPT® Coding for Gastroenterology and Modifiers

Key Takeaway

Read the two "Top 10" chapters of the official study guide first, not last. They are AAPC's own signal about common errors. Note that the guide itself states it is not comprehensive, so treat it as a core resource rather than the entire scope. Our CGIC study guide walkthrough shows how to build around it.

Attempt Economics: One Try or Two

Without a published pass rate, how should you think about the risk of failing? Start with the fee structure. AAPC offers the CGIC exam as a specialty fee of $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts. Membership is required in addition to that fee, and the current shop membership add-on is listed at $229.

OptionCostWhat you get
One attempt$325A single sitting of the exam
Two attempts$399A second try if the first doesn't succeed
Membership (shop add-on)$229Required to sit the exam

The two-attempt bundle costs $74 more than the single attempt. If you believe your preparation is uneven across the six areas, that premium is a relatively cheap hedge compared to buying a second single attempt later. If you're confident, the single attempt saves money. Neither choice is wrong, but the decision should be driven by an honest self-assessment, not by a mythical pass-rate figure. Full cost details are in our CGIC certification cost breakdown.

A Domain-Driven Preparation Sequence

Rather than generic study advice, here is a sequence tied to the six areas, ordered so that foundational knowledge comes before the content that depends on it. Adjust the length to your own experience level.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations: Terminology and Anatomy

  • Review medical terminology and the anatomy and physiology of the digestive system
  • Brush up on specialty pathophysiology, since misunderstanding the condition cascades into coding errors
Weeks 3-4

ICD-10-CM and E/M

  • Work through the ICD-10-CM guidelines and the "Top 10 Errors in Diagnostic Coding for Gastroenterology" chapter
  • Study E/M categories, documentation requirements, and same-day return visits
Weeks 5-6

Medicare Rules and GI Procedures

  • Cover incident-to, teaching physician, shared/split visits, consultations, global surgery, and ABN
  • Practice gastric or duodenal intubation, enteroscopy, mediastinotomy, and hernia repair coding, with modifiers
Weeks 7-8

Note Abstraction and Timed Practice

  • Abstract codes from sample physician and operative notes using only your allowed books
  • Review the "Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts on CGIC™ Exam" and run timed full-length practice

Terminology and anatomy go first because they feed everything else; note abstraction goes last because it integrates all six areas. For a condensed refresher near test day, our CGIC cheat sheet is a handy companion, and you can test yourself on our main practice test site.

Who Hires Certified Gastroenterology Coders

The pass rate is only half the story; the other half is what the credential does for you once you hold it. The CGIC signals specialty competence to employers that bill gastroenterology services. Typical settings include:

  • Gastroenterology physician practices and multi-physician GI groups
  • Hospital outpatient endoscopy and procedural departments
  • Ambulatory surgery centers that perform GI procedures
  • Third-party billing companies serving gastroenterology clients

Because GI practices bill a mix of office E/M, endoscopic procedures, and Medicare-governed services, employers value coders who can handle all of it accurately. To explore openings, see our CGIC jobs page, and for earnings context, our CGIC salary guide. If you're weighing whether the effort pays off, read Is the CGIC Certification Worth It?

Once you're certified, the credential isn't a one-time event. You'll need to maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs per two years, including eight GI-specific CEUs.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CGIC pass rate?

AAPC has not publicly disclosed a pass rate specific to the Certified Gastroenterology Coder exam. Any specific percentage you encounter is unverified unless it comes directly from an AAPC publication about this credential.

Is the 80% AAPC pass rate the same as the CGIC pass rate?

No. The 80% figure is a broad AAPC student marketing statistic and is not the pass rate for the CGIC credential. It should not be used to estimate your chances on this specific exam.

What score do I need to pass the CGIC exam?

You need 70% of the 100 multiple-choice questions correct, within a four-hour, single-sitting proctored exam. AAPC has not disclosed whether the questions are split between scored and unscored items.

Can I use code books during the exam?

Yes, within limits. You may use one each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II. Current or preceding-year editions are permitted, and one-copy limits apply.

Should I buy the one-attempt or two-attempt option?

The single attempt is $325 and the two-attempt option is $399, a $74 difference. If you feel uneven across the six assessment areas, the two-attempt option is a modest hedge; if you feel fully prepared, one attempt saves money.

The honest answer to "what does the data show" is that it shows a transparent exam design and an undisclosed outcome rate. Build your confidence from the published structure, the six assessment areas, and disciplined practice rather than from a number nobody has verified. For more on the credential itself, start with What Is CGIC Certification? and plan your timing with CGIC Exam Dates 2026.

Ready to pass your CGIC exam?

Put this into practice with free CGIC questions across every exam domain.