- What the Certified Gastroenterology Coder Credential Is
- Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered
- Exam Format at a Glance
- The Six Published Assessment Areas
- What the 2026 Study Guide Covers
- Fees, Membership and What You Need Before You Sit
- Eligibility: Who Should Pursue It
- Code Books Allowed in the Exam Room
- Where the Credential Gets Used
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Six Areas
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CGIC here means Certified Gastroenterology Coder, an AAPC specialty credential for coders working with GI documentation.
- The exam is 100 proctored multiple-choice questions in one four-hour sitting; 70% correct is required to pass.
- Fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two, and AAPC membership is required to test.
- Published scope covers six areas, from operative-note abstraction to anatomy, but no official numeric weights are public.
What the Certified Gastroenterology Coder Credential Is
The Certified Gastroenterology Coder credential, abbreviated CGIC, is a specialty certification for professionals who code gastroenterology services. It tests whether you can take real physician office notes and operative reports and turn them into accurate ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifier selections. It also tests the evaluation and management and Medicare billing rules that surround those procedures.
If you have seen "CGIC" attached to other credentials in unrelated fields, set those aside. This article is only about the gastroenterology coding credential. If you want shorter explainers on the name itself, see What Does CGIC Stand For? and CGIC Meaning.
The credential matters because gastroenterology is procedure-dense. A single endoscopy session can involve multiple scope passes, biopsies, polypectomies by different techniques, and modifier decisions that determine whether a claim pays correctly. Generalist coders often struggle here, which is why a specialty credential exists.
Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered
The credential is offered by AAPC, the American Academy of Professional Coders. The exam can be taken either through live-remote proctoring or at a computer testing center. AAPC's authorized testing center list names Meazure Learning, though the specific remote vendor used for the CGIC exam is not something AAPC's public pages confirm, so check your voucher instructions when you register.
Remote testing comes with room, computer, internet and external webcam requirements, and you must present a government-issued photo ID that matches your registration name. Treat the ID match as a hard requirement, not a formality.
Exam Format at a Glance
| Item | CGIC Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | 4 hours, one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70% correct |
| Proctoring | Proctored, live-remote or testing center |
| Reference materials | AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, HCPCS Level II (one each) |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Numeric domain weights | Not published |
Four hours for 100 questions is a generous time allowance, but do not mistake that for an easy exam. Many items are scenario-based: you read a clinical note and must find the right code or modifier combination, which means looking things up in your books for a large share of the questions. The time is there because lookup-heavy work is slow. For a fuller discussion of the number you need, read CGIC Passing Score 2026.
The Six Published Assessment Areas
AAPC's current help page for the credential lists what the exam tests. It does not give percentages for each area, and the list is not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, so treat it as a scope map rather than a point-allocation chart. For deeper treatment of each, see CGIC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Physician and operative-note abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifiers
This is the core skill. You read provider documentation and extract what supports each code.
- Distinguishing diagnostic from therapeutic endoscopic work within a single report
- Linking diagnoses to the procedures they justify
- Applying modifiers when multiple procedures occur in one session
- Using HCPCS Level II codes where they apply to GI services
Domain 2: Evaluation and management guidelines
GI practices bill significant office and hospital visit volume alongside procedures.
- New versus established patient office and outpatient services
- Consultations and hospital services
- Documentation requirements that support the level selected
- Patients returning on the same date of service
Domain 3: Medicare billing rules and regulations
Medicare rules shape how GI claims are filed and what is payable.
- Incident-to requirements
- Teaching physician situations
- Shared/split visits
- Consultation handling under Medicare
- Global surgery concepts and the Advance Beneficiary Notice
Domain 4: Gastroenterology surgical procedure coding
The procedural heart of the exam.
- Gastric or duodenal intubation
- Enteroscopy
- Mediastinotomy
- Hernia repair
- Selecting among closely related CPT codes based on what the operative note actually documents
Domain 5: Medical terminology
Prefixes, suffixes and roots for the digestive system and related procedures. Terminology errors cascade: misread a root and you pick the wrong organ, then the wrong code family.
Domain 6: Anatomy and physiology
You need to know the digestive tract's structure and function well enough to follow an operative narrative. AAPC's published experience expectations also mention specialty pathophysiology, so understanding disease processes helps you interpret diagnoses in the notes.
What the 2026 Study Guide Covers
AAPC publishes an official 2026 Gastroenterology Coding Manual that serves as the study guide. The publisher notes it is not comprehensive, so it should anchor your preparation without being your only resource. Its table of contents shows how AAPC itself organizes the material:
- ICD-10-CM Coding Guidelines, including general tips, general guidelines, chapter-specific guidelines, and a section on the top 10 errors in diagnostic coding for gastroenterology
- Evaluation and Management Coding for Gastroenterology, with documentation requirements, E/M categories and subcategories, same-day return visits, incident-to guidelines, standby services, shared/split visits, teaching physician guidelines, and the Advance Beneficiary Notice
- CPT Coding for Gastroenterology
- Modifiers
- Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts on the CGIC Exam
That last section is worth special attention. Any list of commonly missed concepts tells you where candidates lose points, and you should treat it as a priority review list. A free sample of the guide's early pages is available from AAPC, which is a good way to judge the style before buying. For a complete preparation plan built around these materials, see the CGIC Study Guide 2026.
Key Takeaway
Notice what the guide's table of contents emphasizes: diagnostic coding errors, E/M, Medicare-adjacent rules and modifiers. The exam is not just about memorizing procedure codes. Candidates who only drill CPT endoscopy families tend to underprepare for the documentation and billing-rule material.
Fees, Membership and What You Need Before You Sit
The specialty exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for a package with two attempts. Membership in AAPC is required to test, and AAPC does not publish a separate non-member exam price. If you are not already a member, the current shop add-on for membership is $229. That means a first-time candidate without membership should budget for the exam fee plus the membership add-on, plus study materials and code books.
Before test day you need four things: an active membership, an exam voucher, matching government photo ID, and advanced knowledge of the specialty. Our full CGIC certification cost breakdown walks through the budget in detail, and the CGIC exam dates and scheduling guide covers timing.
Eligibility: Who Should Pursue It
There is no mandatory prior coding credential, degree, reference requirement or fixed specialty-experience minimum. Anyone with membership and a voucher can register. That said, AAPC highly recommends two years of experience, and that recommendation deserves weight. The exam assumes you can already read an operative note and reason about coding choices.
| Candidate Profile | What to Expect |
|---|---|
| Experienced GI coder, 2+ years | Closest to the recommended profile; focus on gaps in E/M and Medicare rules |
| Generalist coder moving into GI | Strong on code mechanics; invest in GI anatomy, terminology and endoscopy families |
| Newer coder or career changer | Eligible on paper, but expect a steep climb; build fundamentals first |
For a structured look at how qualifying works, read CGIC Requirements 2026, and for an honest take on difficulty, see How Hard Is the CGIC Exam?
Code Books Allowed in the Exam Room
You may bring one copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, the ICD-10-CM manual and the HCPCS Level II book. Current or preceding-year editions are permitted. Because this is effectively an open-book exam, your book skills matter as much as your recall: tabbing, knowing where guidelines sit, and finding the right section quickly.
Remember what open-book does and does not do. It helps you verify a code you have narrowed down. It does not help you decide which of two similar procedures the note describes, or whether an E/M modifier applies, or what Medicare allows in a teaching setting. Those judgments come from understanding, not lookup.
Where the Credential Gets Used
The natural home for a Certified Gastroenterology Coder is anywhere GI services are billed:
- Gastroenterology group practices and physician offices
- Ambulatory surgery centers performing endoscopy
- Hospital outpatient endoscopy and GI departments
- Billing companies and revenue cycle vendors serving GI clients
- Auditing and compliance roles reviewing GI claims
Employers in these settings value the credential because GI claims are error-prone: bundling rules, modifiers and diagnosis linkage all affect payment. A coder who has demonstrated specialty competence can reduce denials and audit risk. We do not cite specific salary numbers here because no verified CGIC-specific figures are in our source set; the CGIC salary guide and CGIC jobs overview discuss earnings and roles qualitatively, and our ROI analysis helps you weigh the investment.
Keeping the Credential Active
Once certified, you maintain the credential by keeping annual AAPC membership current and earning 36 continuing education units every two years. Eight of those must be GI-specific. That specialty requirement ensures holders stay current in their field rather than accumulating generic CEUs. Plan CEUs across the two-year cycle instead of cramming at the end.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Six Areas
Because the exam lacks published weights, spread your effort sensibly rather than betting on one area. A reasonable order starts with the foundations that everything else depends on and finishes with integration practice:
Terminology and anatomy
- Digestive tract structure, GI root words and procedure terms
- Pathophysiology of common GI conditions
ICD-10-CM and E/M
- Chapter-specific diagnosis guidelines and the common GI diagnostic errors
- New versus established visits, same-day returns, documentation support
Medicare rules and procedure coding
- Incident-to, teaching physician, shared/split and global surgery rules
- Endoscopy, enteroscopy, intubation and hernia repair code families with modifiers
Operative-note abstraction practice
- Full-note scenarios combining all domains
- Review the guide's most-missed concepts, then timed sets
Finish with realistic practice. You can work through scenario questions on our CGIC practice test site, and keep the CGIC cheat sheet nearby for last-week review. Note that practice question counts in any study product are not the live exam count; the real test is 100 questions.
Frequently Asked Questions
It is the Certified Gastroenterology Coder credential offered by AAPC. It validates that a coder can accurately abstract and code gastroenterology services, including diagnoses, procedures, modifiers, E/M services and Medicare billing rules. See also our companion explainer.
The exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions to be completed in one four-hour sitting, and you need 70% correct to pass. How many of the 100 are scored versus unscored is not disclosed.
No. There is no mandatory prior credential, degree or fixed experience minimum. AAPC does highly recommend about two years of coding experience, and you will need AAPC membership, an exam voucher and matching photo ID.
Yes. One copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II books is allowed, and current or preceding-year editions are permitted. Because lookup is allowed, the exam rewards judgment and fast navigation more than pure memorization.
Maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 CEUs every two years, including eight that are gastroenterology-specific.