- How CGIC Scheduling Actually Works
- Why There Is No Fixed Testing Calendar to Memorize
- The Three Gates Before You Can Book: Membership, Voucher, and ID
- Fees, Attempts, and What a Retake Window Means for Your Date
- Remote Proctoring vs. Testing Center: Choosing Your Setting
- Planning Around a Four-Hour, 100-Question Sitting
- Working Backward From Your Test Date by Domain
- Reference Books and Materials to Prepare Before Test Day
- After You Pass: Membership and CEU Deadlines
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CGIC is an AAPC credential: 100 proctored multiple-choice questions, four hours in one sitting, 70% correct to pass.
- You need an AAPC membership, an exam voucher, and a matching government photo ID before you can test.
- Specialty exam fees are $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts.
- Verify live-remote versus testing-center availability directly with AAPC before you commit to a date.
How CGIC Scheduling Actually Works
Searching for "CGIC exam dates 2026" usually turns up a mix of unrelated credentials, so it helps to be precise: this article covers the Certified Gastroenterology Coder (CGIC) offered through AAPC, the American Academy of Professional Coders. Nothing here applies to any other certification that happens to share the acronym.
The most useful thing to understand up front is that the CGIC is not run like a once-a-year paper exam with a printed calendar of sittings. AAPC specialty exams are administered either as a live-remote proctored session or at an authorized computer testing center. You buy access first, then schedule a sitting within the delivery system that AAPC points you to. The question is less "which of three dates do I pick?" and more "how do I line up my membership, voucher, ID, reference books, and study progress so that the date I choose is one I will actually be ready for?"
That distinction changes how you plan. Instead of reverse-engineering a fixed deadline, you are building your own timeline, and the quality of that timeline determines whether you spend your attempt wisely or burn through it early.
Why There Is No Fixed Testing Calendar to Memorize
Candidates often want a list: January window, April window, and so on. For the CGIC, we are not going to hand you invented windows, because the public AAPC materials we reviewed do not publish a dated 2026 calendar of CGIC-specific sitting windows. What is publicly confirmed is the exam format, the fee structure, the prerequisites, and the allowed references. Specific availability, whether a remote proctoring vendor is available for the CGIC in your region, and any seasonal scheduling constraints should be confirmed in your AAPC account or with AAPC support at the time you purchase.
Because the help page describing the CGIC exam carries an older publication date and is still being served, you should also confirm that format details such as question count and time limit have not changed by the time you register. As of the sources we reviewed, they read: 100 proctored multiple-choice questions, four hours, one sitting, 70% to pass. If you are cross-checking that passing threshold against what you have read elsewhere, our guide to the CGIC passing score breaks down what 70% means in practice.
The Three Gates Before You Can Book: Membership, Voucher, and ID
This is the part of "scheduling" that trips up the most candidates, because it is sequential. You cannot simply pick a time slot; you must clear three requirements first.
Gate 1: Active AAPC membership
Membership is required to sit the exam. No separate non-member exam tariff is published, which means you should plan to be a member rather than shopping for a workaround.
- The current shop add-on price for membership is $229.
- Annual membership must be maintained after you pass, so this is a recurring cost, not a one-time fee.
Gate 2: A purchased exam voucher
The voucher is what grants you an exam attempt. Buying it is a distinct step from scheduling. If you are unsure whether to choose one attempt or two, see the fee section below.
Gate 3: Matching government-issued photo ID
The name on your ID must match the name on your registration. This sounds trivial, but name mismatches (nicknames, hyphenation, a recent legal name change) are a classic cause of turned-away candidates. Fix any discrepancy in your AAPC profile well before test day, not the week of.
There is no mandatory prior coding credential, degree, reference letters, or fixed specialty-experience minimum to register. Two years of experience is highly recommended, and the exam does assume advanced specialty knowledge, but it is a recommendation rather than a gate. For the full eligibility picture, read CGIC requirements: eligibility, prerequisites and how to qualify.
Fees, Attempts, and What a Retake Window Means for Your Date
AAPC offers the CGIC exam in two purchase configurations, and your choice should influence when you book.
| Option | Price | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| One attempt | $325 | Experienced GI coders with strong operative-note and E/M fluency who have already completed full practice runs |
| Two attempts | $399 | Candidates newer to specialty coding, or anyone who wants a built-in margin for a second try |
The $74 difference buys a second sitting, which is cheap insurance relative to repurchasing a single attempt later. That said, a two-attempt voucher is not a license to treat your first sitting as a trial run. The most efficient approach is to book your first sitting only when your practice results justify it, and keep the second attempt as a genuine safety net. For the full financial picture including membership and study materials, see our CGIC certification cost breakdown.
Remote Proctoring vs. Testing Center: Choosing Your Setting
AAPC describes the CGIC as available through live-remote or computer testing-center delivery. Which is better depends on your environment, not on exam difficulty. The exam content and your 70% target are identical either way.
Testing center
You trade convenience for a controlled environment. There is no home-internet risk and no room-inspection stress, and the proctoring is handled on site. This is often the safer pick for candidates with shared homes, unreliable internet, or limited desk space for three coding reference books.
Live-remote proctoring
Remote testing saves travel time but brings technical and environmental rules. The remote requirements include a compliant room, a suitable computer, stable internet, and an external webcam. Do a full technology check ahead of time rather than on the morning of the exam, and clear the room of anything that could be flagged. Remember that you are allowed to use physical code books, so the desk must hold them without looking like a violation.
Key Takeaway
Choose the setting that minimizes variables you cannot control. A four-hour exam is long enough that a flickering connection or a roommate interruption can cost you more than a commute would. If you have any doubt about your remote setup, the testing center is the lower-risk path.
Planning Around a Four-Hour, 100-Question Sitting
The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in a single four-hour sitting. That works out to roughly 2.4 minutes per question on average, which is generous compared to many coding exams, but the time is not spread evenly. The CGIC tests operative-note abstraction and gastroenterology procedure coding, and a single operative note can require reading a dense narrative, identifying the performed endoscopic or surgical procedures, and then selecting among closely worded code choices and modifiers.
Because it is one sitting, you should schedule your date for a time of day when you are sharp for the full duration. Do not book a slot that follows a night shift or squeezes into a lunch break. Mentally rehearse the length: if you have never sat through four hours of focused reading and code lookup, your first full practice test will teach you about stamina as much as content. Our piece on how hard the CGIC exam is discusses where candidates typically feel the time pressure.
The scored versus unscored split of the 100 questions is not disclosed, so assume every question counts and answer all of them.
Working Backward From Your Test Date by Domain
Here is the one structured study section in this article, and it is tied directly to how the six published assessment areas map onto your calendar. These six areas are the issuer-published topics for the CGIC; they are unweighted, and no official numerical blueprint is publicly confirmed, so the sequencing below is editorial rather than a percentage-driven plan.
Foundations: Medical Terminology and Anatomy & Physiology
- Build fluency with GI terminology and anatomy so operative notes stop reading like a foreign language.
- Trace the digestive tract end to end, and note where each endoscopic approach reaches.
Evaluation and Management Guidelines
- Work through new and established office/outpatient services, consultations, and hospital services.
- Review incident-to, shared/split visits, and teaching physician situations.
Medicare Billing Rules and Regulations
- Cover Medicare incident-to, teaching situations, shared visits, consultations, and global surgery rules.
- Review the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN) concepts in the study guide.
GI Surgical Procedure Coding and Note Abstraction
- Practice abstracting ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II, and modifiers from operative and office notes.
- Drill modifiers and procedure bundling, then run at least one full timed practice test.
Why this order? Terminology and anatomy are the scaffolding for everything else, so they come first. E/M and Medicare rules are rule-heavy but self-contained, which makes them good middle-phase material. Procedure coding and note abstraction come last because they pull on every earlier domain at once, and they are the area where full-length timed practice pays off most. For a deeper look at each area, see CGIC exam domains: a guide to all six content areas, and for general sequencing advice see our CGIC study guide.
If you are working backward from a target sitting, the practical rule is: do not book until you can complete a full 100-question timed run at or above the 70% threshold with margin to spare. You can test your readiness with the CGIC practice test on the main site.
Reference Books and Materials to Prepare Before Test Day
Scheduling is not just a date; it is also the lead time to assemble materials. The exam allows one copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II code books. Current or prior-year editions are permitted, which gives you flexibility if you already own last year's set.
Start using the exact books you will bring to the exam as early as possible. Tabbing and highlighting rules vary by testing environment, so confirm what is allowed in your delivery format rather than assuming, and be sure to tab the sections you will lean on for GI procedures and modifiers. A new, unmarked set opened for the first time on exam day is a common source of wasted minutes.
AAPC also offers an official 2026 study guide, the Gastroenterology Coding Manual. Its table of contents covers ICD-10-CM coding guidelines, a section on top diagnostic coding errors in gastroenterology, E/M coding for gastroenterology (including documentation requirements, incident-to, standby services, shared/split visits, teaching physician guidelines, and the ABN), CPT coding for gastroenterology, modifiers, and a section on commonly missed concepts on the CGIC exam. The guide states plainly that it is not comprehensive, so use it as a spine for your preparation, not as a substitute for coding practice. For a one-page recap of the high-yield facts, our CGIC cheat sheet is a useful companion.
After You Pass: Membership and CEU Deadlines
Scheduling does not end when the exam does. The credential carries ongoing obligations, and knowing them before you test helps you judge the true cost and commitment.
- Annual membership: You must keep your AAPC membership current to maintain the credential.
- 36 CEUs per two years: Continuing education is tracked on a two-year cycle.
- Eight GI-specific CEUs: Of those 36, eight must be specific to gastroenterology, so general coding education alone will not satisfy the requirement.
Plan your first two-year cycle early. Collect CEUs as you go rather than scrambling at the end, and favor GI-relevant content so the specialty requirement takes care of itself. If you are weighing whether those recurring costs are justified, our analysis of whether the CGIC is worth it and the CGIC salary guide lay out the return side of the equation. To see the kinds of employers and roles this credential opens, read about CGIC jobs.
Key Takeaway
Treat your exam date as the output of a checklist, not the starting point: active membership, purchased voucher, matching photo ID, assembled code books, confirmed delivery format, and a passing practice score. When all six are green, book it.
Frequently Asked Questions
The public AAPC sources we reviewed do not publish a dated calendar of CGIC-specific testing windows. The exam is delivered through live-remote or testing-center options, so confirm current availability in your AAPC account at the time you purchase your voucher.
You need an active AAPC membership, a purchased exam voucher, and a government-issued photo ID that matches your registration name. There is no mandatory prior credential, degree, or fixed experience minimum, though two years of experience is highly recommended.
The specialty exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts. Membership is required separately, with a current shop add-on price of $229, and you must also have your code books.
The exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions delivered in one four-hour sitting. You need 70% correct to pass. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
Yes. You may use one copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II books. Current or prior-year editions are permitted, and remote testing adds room, computer, internet, and external webcam rules.
You must maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 CEUs every two years, including eight that are specific to gastroenterology. Start tracking CEUs early so the specialty requirement does not catch you off guard.
For a plain-language overview of the credential itself, see what CGIC certification is, and when you are ready to measure your progress against the real format, take a full timed run on our CGIC practice exam.